Bureaucracy, Brecht and the beach

My last post ended with a nod to the Bezirksamt of the 6th and 7th district, where I had to complete the process of registration (‘Anmeldung’) as a newcomer in Vienna. As it happened, I grew very familiar after my three trips there as I had to wait for my flatmates to come back from visiting their families in order to get the required signature on my Meldezettel. Now I’ve overcome this hurdle, I can register for a bank account and set up any direct debits for monthly public transport payments and the like.

It’s not all been form filling and jotter-blotting though- I’ve also been getting to know my new surroundings and enjoying some of the cultural gems Vienna has to offer. This has included a trip to the Naschmarkt, a large, but pricey food market in the centre and to the less bank-breaking Flohmarkt (flea market) next door. One of my favourite places so far is the Musuemsquartier, a series of adjoining courtyards near the Ring which houses several galleries and museums, as well as lots of vibesy cafes and bars.

The prompt departure of my flatmates within 24 hours of my arrival (always an auspicious start…) meant that the most German exposure I got was at the cinema, taking advantage of a weekend of free films at the independent cinema to celebrate the European Day of Cooperation on 21st September, and a theatre hatrick of Schnitzler‘s Liebelei, KrausThe Last Days of Mankind and Brecht‘s Mother Courage and her Children.

An evening at the theatre is a big deal in Vienna, as we discovered when we rocked up in jeans and t-shirts to find the rest of the audience were in their 60s and were sporting designer suits. My attempt to take my interval Pils back into the auditorium for the second half was not particularly well received either… But together all three plays only set me back €16,50 (€6, €8 and €2.50)- a complete bargain considering that both the Theater in der Josefstadt and the Burgtheater are such beautiful buildings, it’s worth paying just see their interiors. It was also something to see Liebelei in the theatre it was originally performed in, and when I watched the Kraus to eat my supper of Hühnerpfanne (chicken casserole) in between two of the most beautiful buildings in Vienna, the Burgtheater and the Rathaus (town hall). To cap it all, after paying for a €2,50 Stehplatz (standing ticket) for the Brecht, we were told by the usher we could take any unoccupied seats once the performance had started, meaning we ended up in a seats that would have cost us €20!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Vokabeln

die Hühnerpfanne – chicken casserole
eine Karte entwerten – to stamp a ticket
der Kaiserschmarren – Austrian dessert with chopped up pancakes
die Palatschinken – pancakes
die Melange – Austrian coffee similar to a cappuccino made with an espresso shot or black coffee, plus steamed milk

Leave a comment